Skip to content

SEAC

March 29, 2011

I am part of the Student Environmental Awareness Coalition at my high school.  We work throughout the year to clean the main highway in my town along with a public beach access in a neighboring town along with many other environmental topics.

I thought I’d just let you guys know about this interesting club and some of our activities.

Currently, in Dare County, plastic bags are banned because of our close proximity to the beach through an act of congress.  Two senators from the eastern district of North Carolina have set in a bill to repeal this ban.  There is much controversy over this issue, but the fact is that plastic bags are non-biodegradeable and are a threat to our coastline, and more particularly our marine life.  I say marine life because sea turtles are a primary focus of the Pea Island National Wildlife Refuge that I have worked with throughout my time with the Youth Ambassador Program.  All year the Pea Island staff works to secure sea turtle eggs and help the hatch-lings back to the ocean once they have broken out of their shell.  Through SEAC we are asking people to write letters to help keep this repeal from coming into effect.

You can read more on these sites.  One moreso supportive of the repeal article:  http://daretruth.wordpress.com/2011/03/12/plastic-bag-ban-repeal-introduced-in-senate-the-case-for-supporting-repeal/

One that oppose:  http://outerbanksvoice.com/2011/03/11/republicans-file-bill-to-repeal-plastic-bag-ban/

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 30, 2011 8:46 pm

    I hope they don’t appeal that law. Thanks for the info.

Leave a comment